OXO Pop Containers Review and In-Depth Buying Guide

OXO Pop Containers Review and In-Depth Buying Guide

Everything you need to know about OXO Pop 1.0 and 2.0 containers and accessories in order to make an informed purchase.

Product links will take you to our affiliate partner websites. We may earn a commission on purchases.

Sale
White Lids: Recommended OXO Pop Starter Set: 20-Piece
  • 20 pieces to get you started. Use the buying guide below to purchase additional pieces to match your storage needs.
  • Set includes: Two 0.2 Qt Containers, One 0.4 Qt Rectangle Container, One 0.4 Qt Square Container, One 0.5 Qt Container, One 0.6 Qt Container, Two 1.1 Qt Containers, Two 1.2 Qt Containers, Two 1.7 Qt Rectangle Containers, One 1.7 Square Container, One 2.2 Qt Container, One 2.7 Qt Container, Two 2.8 Qt Containers, One 4.4 Qt Container, Two 6.0 Qt Containers.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 17:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Stainless Steel Lids: Recommended OXO Pop Starter Set: 12 Piece
  • 12 pieces in stainless steel to get you started with a elegant look.
  • Stainless steel looks fantastic on open kitchen shelves or countertops.
  • Use buying guide below to purchase additional pieces to match your storage needs.
  • Includes: Two 0.2 Qt Container, One 0.4 Qt Small Square Container, One 0.4 Qt Slim Rectangle Container, One 0.6 Qt Container, One 1.1 Qt Container, One 1.2 Qt Container, One 1.7 Qt Container, One 2.8 Qt Container, One 4.4 Qt Container, One Half Cup Scoop, 36 Removable Labels (6 Sheets).

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 17:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Table of Contents

Introduction to the Review: How I Got Introduced to OXO Pop Containers

Over the years, my pantry has started to get fuller and fuller with several different types of flour, dozens and dozens of spices, several varieties of pasta, sugar, and much much more. I first started to solve this problem by buying Cambro containers, which are commercial restaurant-quality plastic containers for both food storage and food preparation. While I love these containers for how versatile they are, they are a bit bulky and take up a lot of space in my house.

I decided to look at OXO Pop food storage containers when I saw them in the store. These are the OXO containers with a pop top that easily seals to protect its contents with the push of a button.

Quality Manufacturing and the OXO Guarantee

OXO is also the manufacturer of the high quality Good Grips line of kitchen utensils which I’m a fan of, so I was confident I’d get a well-made container. Additionally, OXO backs their products with a guarantee. I have previous experience with OXO’s warranty process when the handle of my can opener broke; the can opener was years old, but all that OXO required was some pictures, and the place and approximate date of purchase. They quickly sent out a replacement; it couldn’t have gone smoother.

How OXO Pop Containers Meet My Needs

OXO Pop containers looked like a good solution as they come in various sizes to store everything from small amounts of spices to large amounts of flour, they are modular allowing a better use of space in my small pantry, and they are made of clear plastic so that I can easily tell what’s inside. They are BPA-free, so you don’t have to worry about that chemical leaching into your food. In addition to these functional benefits, they are also aesthetically pleasing, which is always a plus in a home kitchen.

Through my purchase of these containers, I learned quite a bit and I hope to impart some of that wisdom to my readers. After all, these containers are expensive and you don’t want to make any costly mistakes when acquiring them. I hope this review and guide will help you determine if OXO pop containers are worth it for you.

Oxo Pop Steel Containers Look Great on an Open Kitchen Shelf.
I prefer the look of the stainless steel OXO Pop containers on an open kitchen shelf. I use the less costly white plastic Oxo Pop containers in my closed cupboards and pantry.

OXO Pop 1.0 vs. 2.0

One of the first things I noticed when I was looking at purchasing OXO Pop containers was that some were advertised as being “Pop 2.0” containers; this implies that there was a 1.0 version. The original containers were released over 10 years prior to the 2.0 containers, but they were never labeled as “1.0”. When the design of the containers was refreshed in 2019, they were branded as being 2.0. For the duration of this review, I will be referring to the original OXO Pop design as “OXO Pop 1.0”.

The big difference between OXO Pop 1.0 and 2.0 is the design of the lid. On the 1.0 version, the lid has rounder corners and goes deeper into the container. The OXO Pop 1.0 lid also lifts off the container much more than OXO Pop 2.0. On the other hand, OXO Pop 2.0 features more squared off corners, a flatter design, and doesn’t encroach on the space inside the container as much as OXO Pop 1.0.

OXO Pop 1.0 vs. 2.0 Review.

When you flip the lid over, you will notice a round protrusion on the OXO Pop 2.0 containers that does not exist on the OXO Pop 1.0 containers. This protrusion is handy as it allows you attach OXO Pop accessories to the lid for convenient access; OXO supplies a number of accessories specifically for their Pop 2.0 containers, including a half-cup scoop, a dry ingredient leveler, a brown sugar keeper, a dusting scoop, a rice measuring cup, a date dial, and a two tablespoon coffee scoop. You can read more about the OXO Pop 2.0 accessories in the accessories section of this blog post.

OXO Pop 2.0 Accessory Attachments.

Disassembling the OXO Pop 2.0 lid for cleaning is different from disassembling a OXO Pop 1.0 lid. You will want to disassemble the lids so you can wash them before use to remove any factory residue; you will also want to disassemble the lids for cleaning when you switch to different container contents. More detailed instructions on how to disassemble your lid can be found in the cleaning and care section of this review.

Overall, the OXO Pop 2.0 container has the additional functionality of enabling the attachment of accessories on the underside of the lid and easier disassembling for cleaning; however, if you want to go beyond cleaning to fix stuck lids/buttons, there is additional disassembly and I find that procedure a little more complicated on OXO Pop 2.0 versus OXO Pop 1.0. The gasket and container can go in the dishwasher on OXO Pop 2.0 containers; however, OXO only recommends dishwashing the gasket on OXO Pop 1.0 containers. 

OXO also claims that the design of the 2.0 lid uses fewer parts and is more reliable than the 1.0 lid.

Finally, the squared off and flatter lid design on the OXO Pop 2.0 containers is much more aesthetically pleasing in my opinion. 

I would recommend buying the OXO Pop 2.0 containers over the 1.0 containers unless you can find an incredible deal on the 1.0 containers.

OXO Pop Steel vs. Plastic

Both the 1.0 and 2.0 versions of OXO Pop containers come in a stainless steel and white plastic variation. The difference between both variations can only be found in the lids; the containers themselves are identical. So in the end it all comes down to aesthetics; do you like the look of plastic or stainless steel better? You will pay a small premium for the stainless steel versions, but I prefer the look over plastic so I’ve bought stainless steel for everything that’s stored on open kitchen shelves or countertops and use the white plastic lids for everything that’s stored behind a closed cupboard or pantry.

OXO Pop White Plastic vs. Steel.
Left: OXO Pop 2.0 Steel. Right: OXO Pop 2.0 Plastic

One additional thing to note is that there are many more size options available with white plastic lids than stainless steel lids; however, because the lids are interchangeable you can get creative and swap lids for containers you are storing out in the open. For example, the 3.7qt (3.5L) tall rectangular container only comes with a white lid; I wanted to use this to store my spaghetti on an open kitchen shelf, so I swapped the lid with one of my 1.7qt (1.6L) containers that came with a stainless steel lid. I then stored the 1.7qt (1.6L) container with the white lid in a closed off pantry. It’s important to note that while lids are swappable between stainless steel and plastic within their 1.0 and 2.0 version, you can’t put a 2.0 lid on a 1.0 container or vice versa.

Of course not everyone cares about aesthetics to this level, so this will be a personal choice.

OXO Pop Container Size and Buying Guide

I did not purchase all my OXO containers all at once. I first purchased a 6-piece set of OXO Pop 2.0 Steel containers. That gave me several different sizes to get comfortable with; after that I then purchased another set but bought the rest of my containers individually in order to maximize the use of my kitchen and pantry space.

Below is a guide that summarizes and reviews my experience with different sizes along with their dimensions/measurements. I also recommend different OXO Pop containers for different foods such as flour, sugar, brown sugar, rice, coffee, pasta, bread, and spices. Of course, your needs may vary depending on the size of your kitchen and the size of your food packages, but I do hope that this guide is a handy starting point so that you can make an informed decision when purchasing OXO Pop containers.

Best OXO Pop Containers for Large Quantity Staples

My most common containers are the 4.4 Qt squares and 2.7 Qt rectangles. The 4.4 Qt container is perfect for a 5lb bag of flour or oats, and I also keep my sugar in one, while the 2.7 Qt rectangle container is perfect for rice and various pastas (excluding longer pastas like spaghetti and lasagna; for those you will need a taller container). What I especially like about this pair of sizes is that they combine well in my sliding cabinet shelves.

Perfect fit for OXO Pop containers on sliding shelves.

On a 17-inch wide and 21-inch deep sliding shelf (pictured above), I can comfortably fit four 4.4 Qt Medium Big Square and two 2.7 Qt Medium Rectangle OXO Pop containers. Additionally, I can fit another two 4.4 Qt containers and one 2.7 Qt container at the back of the sliding shelf, but I prefer to keep this space free for storing excess flour, sugar, and other supplies that don’t fit in my OXO Pop containers as it can be difficult to access an entire container back there with the middle shelf of my kitchen island hovering above. The combination of sliding shelves and OXO Pop containers is a perfect solution to storing all my large-quantity pantry staples in an easy-to-access but out-of-the-way place.

11-inch sliding shelf and OXO Pop containers.

In addition to my 17-inch wide sliding shelf, I have an 11-inch wide and 21-inch deep sliding shelf (pictured above) situated right beside the 17-inch wide sliding shelf under my kitchen island. The combination of the two shelves fits perfectly under my kitchen island and the OXO Pop containers fit perfectly in the sliding shelves. The 11-inch wide sliding shelf can comfortably hold two 4.4 Qt Medium Big Square and two 2.7 Qt Medium Rectangle OXO Pop containers. Once again,  there is extra space in the back that can hold additional containers (an extra 4.4 Qt and an extra 2.7 Qt container); however, I still keep this space for other items as the containers can be difficult to access way in the back underneath the middle shelf of the kitchen island.

Best OXO Pop Container for Flour, Oats, and Sugar: 4.4 Qt Medium Big Square
  • 6.5 inches wide x 6.5 inches deep x 9.5 inches tall
  • Recommended Use: I use this OXO Pop container for flour, oatmeal, and sugar. It will fit a 5lb bag of flour or oats perfectly. An attachable half-cup scoop accessory goes well with this.
  • Comes in a stainless steel version as well.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 4:00 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Best OXO Pop Container for Rice and Pasta (excluding long noodles like Spaghetti): 2.7 Qt Medium Rectangle
  • 6.5 inches wide x 4.3 inches deep x 9.5 inches tall
  • Recommended Use: I use this OXO Pop container for rice along with all sorts of pastas (but not long pasta like Spaghetti or Lasagna; for those you will need a taller container). It will fit a 5lb bag of rice.
  • An attachable rice measuring cup accessory goes well with this.
  • Comes in a stainless steel version as well.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 4:00 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Best OXO Pop Containers for Small Quantity Spices and Powders

The 0.2 Qt and 0.5 Qt sized containers are another great combination; this time it’s for small quantities of spices, powders, and baking supplies. I use this combination of sizes to store all my spices, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa powder, chocolate chips, and more. What I especially like about these containers is that they fit perfectly on my three-tier shelf organizer, as seen in the picture below. This saves me even more valuable pantry space.
mini oxo pop containers on 3 tier riser
Best OXO Pop Container for Spices: 0.2 Qt Mini Square
  • 3.3 inches wide x 3.3 inches deep x 3.1 inches tall
  • Recommended Use: I use this OXO Pop container for spices or other items I stock in small quantities.
  • These containers fit perfectly on my three-tier shelf organizer.
  • Comes in a stainless steel version as well.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 4:00 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Best OXO Pop Container for Baking Powder, Baking Soda, Cocoa Powder, and Chocolate Chips: 0.5 Qt Short Mini Square
  • 3.3 inches wide x 3.3 inches deep x 6.3 inches tall
  • Recommended Use: I use this OXO Pop container for baking powder, baking soda, cocoa powder, and chocolate chips. These containers fit perfectly on this three-tier shelf organizer.
  • These containers fit perfectly on my three-tier shelf organizer.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 4:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Other Essential Sizes

OXO Pop Container for Brown Sugar

Despite it being advertised for coffee, I use my OXO Pop 1.7 Qt Short Rectangle for brown sugar. I couple it with a half-cup scoop that attaches to the bottom of the lid. I also use a non-OXO brown sugar saver so I don’t waste the attachment space; this brown sugar saver keeps brown sugar moist for months and can even turn rock hard brown sugar moist in just 24 hours. You may also be interested in the OXO brown sugar keeper that attaches to the bottom of the lid, but you can only attach one thing at a time.

OXO Pop container with brown sugar saver and half cup scoop.
Best OXO Pop Container for Brown Sugar: 1.7 Qt Short Rectangle

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 14:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

OXO Pop Containers for Powdered Sugar and Candies

I use the 1.1 Qt Short Small Square OXO Pop container to store my powdered sugar and various hard and soft candies. I recommend the dusting scoop attachment if you use this container for powdered sugar; it attaches to the bottom of the lid and can be used to easily sprinkle confectioners’ sugar over your baked good; you can also use the dusting scoop to sprinkle flour over a work surface before kneading dough.

OXO Pop Icing Sugar Dusting Scoop
Sale
Best OXO Pop Container for Powdered Sugar and Candies: 1.1 Qt Short Small Square

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 14:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

OXO Pop Containers for Salt and Tea

I store my salt in the 0.6 Qt Mini Rectangle OXO Pop container. I find it to hold a convenient amount of salt to keep near the stove in order to season my dishes to perfection. This container is also good for storing both bagged and loose-leaf tea.

Best OXO Pop Container for Salt and Tea: 0.6 Qt Mini Rectangle
  • 6.5 inches wide x 4.3 inches deep x 3.1 inches tall
  • Recommended Use: I use this OXO Pop container for salt; it’s a handy amount to keep near the stove to season dishes properly. I also use it to store tea.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 14:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

OXO Pop Containers for Pasta

I use the 3.7 Qt Tall Rectangle OXO Pop container for my spaghetti, as I keep my pantry well stocked with it and this container can easily fit several boxes! This container is also good for other long pasta noodles, such as lasagna, linguine, and fettuccine. If you are looking to store a smaller amount of long pasta noodles, check out the 2.3 Qt Tall Small Square OXO Pop container, which is a container just as tall as this one but less wide.

Best OXO Pop Container for Spaghetti and Other Long Noodles, Such as Lasagna, Linguine, and Fettuccine: 3.7 Qt Tall Rectangle
  • 6.5 inches wide x 4.3 inches deep x 12.6 inches tall
  • Recommended Use: I use this OXO Pop container for spaghetti; I always keep lots on hand and this will store several boxes. It’s also good for other long pastas such as lasagna, linguine, and fettuccine.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 9:00 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Best OXO Pop Container for Smaller Quantities of Long Pasta, Such as Spaghetti, Lasagna, Linguine, and Fettuccine: 2.3 Qt Tall Small Square
  • 4.3 inches wide x 4.3 inches deep x 12.6 inches tall
  • Recommended Use: I use this OXO Pop container for lasagna noodles, as I only keep a small amount on hand. It’s also good for other long pastas such as spaghetti, linguine, and fettuccine.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 15:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

OXO Pop Containers for Bread

The 6 Qt Tall Big Square OXO Pop container is good for storing bread vertically, instead of taking up precious counter space with a horizontal bread box.
Sale
Best OXO Pop Container for Bread: 6 Qt Tall Big Square
  • 6.5 inches wide x 6.5 inches deep x 12.6 inches tall
  • Recommended Use: Use this OXO Pop container to store a loaf of bread vertically; save space compared to a horizontal bread box.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 17:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Mix it Up with Round Containers

If you feel like switching things up, OXO also sells round containers in the OXO Pop style. You’ll be sacrificing modularity but sometimes it’s nice to mix things up.

Mix It Up with Round 1.5 Qt, 3.3 Qt, and 5.2 Qt OXO Pop Containers
  • Airtight seal with a single press
  • POP Containers nest for space-efficient storage
  • BPA free. Dishwasher safe

Pricing last updated on September 13, 2022 - 7:30 MDT. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

OXO Pop Containers Designed for Specific Uses

OXO Pop Containers for Cereal

If you want a container to easily store and pour cereals, OXO has you covered with a variety of different volume containers.

Sale
Best OXO Pop Container for Cereal: Cereal Dispenser 3-Pack (4.5 Qt, 3.4 Qt. 2.5 Qt)
  • Airtight seal with a single press; two silicone seals keep cereal, granola and snacks fresh
  • Contoured container is comfortable to hold, even when Dispenser is full
  • Airtight seal with a single press; two silicone seals keep cereal, granola and snacks fresh
  • Contoured container is comfortable to hold, even when Dispenser is full

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 15:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Buy the OXO Pop Cereal Dispensers individually:   4.5 Qt.  |    3.4 Qt   |   2.5 Qt.

OXO Pop Containers for Coffee

There is also a 1.7 Qt OXO Pop 2.0 steel container made specifically for coffee. It fits a 1lb bag of coffee perfectly, comes with a 2 tablespoon scoop, and most importantly it contains UV-blocking tint to protect your coffee from harmful sun rays. I store my freshly roasted coffee beans for my Breville Oracle Touch in this container.

Sale
Best OXO Pop Container for Coffee: 1.7 Qt Steel Coffee Container
  • 6.5 inches wide x 4.3 inches deep x 4.25 inches tall
  • Perfect for 1 lb bag of coffee bean or grounds
  • UV-blocking tint to protect coffee
  • Includes 2T Scoop

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 15:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

OXO Pop Containers for Pet Food

If you are looking for an OXO Pop container to store food for your dog, cat, or other furry friend, this 5.8 Qt container will store 6.5lbs of dog food, 4.5lbs of cat food, 3.5lbs of dog or cat treats, 10lbs of bird food, or 7.5lbs of hamster food. It also comes with a square button instead of a round one, which can help you distinguish between human food and pet food (always helpful!). This container also comes in a number of other sizes if you don’t need this amount of volume.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 15:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

OXO Pop Cookie Jars

OXO sells cookie jars in the OXO Pop style, which is perfect for tasty treats.

Best OXO Pop Container for Cookies: 5 Qt Cookie Jar
  • 5 qt size is great for large snacks like pretzels or bulk snacks for the whole family.Product Dimensions : 8.5 x 5.63 x 8.5 inches
  • Airtight seal keeps snacks fresh
  • Press button once to seal canister and again to open
  • Pop-up button serves as handle to easily remove lid
  • Large circular opening makes it easy to access snacks of various sizes

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 17:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

OXO Pop Container Accessories

As stated earlier in this review, one benefit of the OXO Pop 2.0 containers over the 1.0 containers, is that accessories can be snapped onto the bottom of the lids for convenient access. I have direct experience with the half-cup scoop, rice measuring cup, and dusting scoop.

Attachable Half-Cup Scoop

This is simply a scoop that measure half a cup that attaches to the bottom of the lid of your OXO Pop 2.0 container. I keep one attached to the lid of my flour, sugar, and oatmeal containers for convenience. If you remember it’s exactly half a cup when leveled off, you can avoid taking out a separate measuring cup and adding to your dishes.
OXO Good Grips POP Container 1/2 Cup Scoop, Clear
  • Make the most of POP Containers with all-new POP Accessories; seven solution-based tools that attach neatly to the underside of Container lids
  • This 1/2 cup / 120 mL capacity OXO POP Accessories Scoop is perfect for measuring or portioning flour, rice, granola and more
  • Recommended for use with the 4. 4 Qt / 4. 2 L OXO POP Container, sized for 5 lb bags of flour or sugar; also fits all POP Containers with lid type A, B, D.
  • BPA Free. Dishwasher Safe.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 14:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Attachable Rice Measuring Cup

I own a Zojirushi rice cooker (which I highly recommend as it makes fantastic rice and is easy-as-pie to operate) and I am constantly losing the provided rice measuring cup. This is a big nuisance as the rice cooker pot has indentations on it that call for different amounts of water depending on how many cups you add. The rice measuring cup isn’t a standard North American measure, instead it uses a 180 mL gō, a traditional Japanese measurement. With the OXO rice measuring cup attachment, I can simply store a measuring cup under the lid of each of my rice containers; convenient and easy to keep track of.
NEW OXO Good Grips POP Container Rice Measuring Cup
  • Make the most of POP Containers with all-new POP Accessories; seven solution-based tools that attach neatly to the underside of Container lids
  • The POP Rice Measuring Cup helps you perfectly portion 1 standard rice cup / 180 mL for pressure, slow or rice cookers
  • Recommended for use with the 4.4 Qt / 4.2 L POP Container, sized for 5 lbs. of rice; also fits POP Containers with lid type: A and B.
  • BPA Free. Dishwasher Safe.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 9:00 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Attachable Dusting Scoop

The OXO Dusting Scoop is a neat little accessory that makes it easy to dust your baked goods with confectioners’ sugar or to dust your work surface with some flour prior to kneading dough. I keep one attached to the lid of my powdered icing sugar container.

OXO Good Grips POP Container Dusting Scoop
  • Make the most of POP Containers with all-new POP Accessories; seven solution-based tools that attach neatly to the underside of Container lids
  • The OXO POP Dusting Scoop is ideal for evenly dusting powdered sugar, flour or cinnamon on work surfaces and for decorating treats
  • Recommended for use with the 1. 1 Qt / 1. 0 L POP Container, sized for 1 lb of confectioner’s sugar; also fits POP Containers with lid type: A, B, C, D
  • BPA Free. Dishwasher Safe.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 4:00 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Other Attachable Accessories

OXO also sells additional accessories such as a brown sugar saver, a date dial, a two tablespoon coffee scoop, and a dry ingredient leveler. The only additional accessory I would find useful from this list is the brown sugar saver, which can both keep brown sugar moist and revive hardened brown sugar in just 24 hours. However, I already own a brown sugar saver that just sits inside the container with the sugar, so I prefer to keep the bottom of the lid free for the half-cup scoop attachment.

You may find the date dial useful for recording best before dates; however I just use my labels for that. The leveller seems like an extra piece of plastic when a kitchen knife would do. You may find a use for the coffee scoop if you don’t already own the 1.7 Qt OXO Pop coffee container, which comes with the 2 tablespoon coffee scoop.

Labels for OXO Pop Containers

For labels, I use a simple label maker. I like how it creates uniform labels that are easy to read and that are removable. The label maker I own also has relatively inexpensive cartridges. You can also purchase pre-printed transparent handwriting-style pantry labels. If you have nicer handwriting than me, you may want to try chalk-style labels.

OXO Pop Container Alternatives

There are many OXO Pop knockoffs and food storage container alternatives. There’s the well known brands of Tupperware, Cambro, and Rubbermaid, but there are also many lesser known brands.

OXO Pop vs. Cambro Containers

As mentioned earlier in this review, prior to using OXO Pop Containers, I used Cambro containers to store my flour, sugar, salt, and other ingredients that I had large quantities of. While these containers are great for these large quantities, and I love that printed quantity measurements on the side of the containers, they aren’t so great for items that I have smaller quantities of (e.g. baking soda or baking powder). Finally, I don’t find them as aesthetically pleasing as the OXO containers, but that comes down to personal preference.

I still keep my Cambro containers around as they are very useful for marinating or brining large quantities (e.g. brining a Thanksgiving turkey) or for storing leftovers in the fridge (the square design is space efficient for the fridge) and reheating them in the microwave later.

OXO Pop vs Cambro Containers

OXO Pop vs. Rubbermaid Brilliance

I love my Rubbermaid Brilliance containers for storing leftovers, bringing said leftovers to work, and reheating them in the microwave (they come with convenient steam holes when you flip open the latches to let steam escape but still keep the food covered to prevent a splattered mess in the microwave).

Rubbermaid Brilliance sells a pantry organization and food storage container set that features the same design as their take-away food storage containers. The lids on these containers are super airtight and thanks to the snapping lids, they are actually much more secure than OXO Pop. They are also modular like the OXO Pop containers but don’t have as much variety when it comes to sizing.

In the end, I think Rubbermaid Brilliance is a solid alternative to OXO pop containers, but I still prefer the aesthetics and clean look of the pop containers.

A Solid OXO Pop Alternative: Rubbermaid Brilliance Plastic Food Storage Pantry Set of 14 Containers with Lids
  • 28-piece pantry container set is 100% airtight, shatter-resistant, and stackable to keep dry foods like flour, sugar, cereal, oats, nuts, rice, snacks, coffee, and even pet food fresh and organized in your pantry
  • Latches designed to form an airtight seal around the container, and fasten with an audible click
  • 360° crystal-clear containers make it easy to see snacks and dry foods from any angle
  • Durable Tritan plastic is shatter-resistant against drops
  • BPA-free, dishwasher safe, odor resistant, stain resistant, and freezer safe design

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 17:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Other Alternatives to OXO Pop Containers

There are other alternatives to OXO Pop available such as the Progressive International Prepworks’ ProKeeper, Better Homes and Gardens containers, and ClickClack containers (available widely in Australia and New Zealand); however, I do not have direct experience with any of these other brands.

In addition to my OXO Pop containers, I also use a KitchenSafe container for chocolates and other sweets that I might binge on. I admit, I don’t have much self-control when it comes to junk food. Prior to owning a KitchenSafe, I wouldn’t stock junk food in the house due to this lack of self-control; however, with the KitchenSafe, I can safely enjoy my favourite chocolates and treats, set a timed lock for 48 hours, and enjoy my snacks guilt-free. As an added bonus, it’s similar aesthetic blends in with my OXO Pop containers.

Kitchen Safe Time Locking Container (Medium), Timed Lock Box for Cell Phones, Snacks, and other unwanted temptations (White Lid + 5.5” White Base)
  • BUILD BETTER HABITS: Creating genuine changes in our habits requires willpower, and oftentimes we don’t have the internal motivation. That is okay, we know it's tough to break bad habits. Once it’s set, the kSafe locking timed container will not reopen until the timer hits zero. The timed safe can be set up to 10 days and is your external motivation to cut back on your addictions and build habits to live a happier life.
  • COMBAT ADDICTION: Over 21 million Americans deal with at least one addiction, and the average person spends upwards of 5 hours a day on their phone. Whether it’s your phone, cigarettes, pills, or other illicit substance, the kSafe timed locking feature helps you overcome bad habits by helping you develop the willpower to fight temptation.
  • PERFECT SIZE FOR YOUR PHONE AND JUNK FOOD: Fit your cell phone (iPhone XS, XS Max, XR & Galaxy S10, S10e, S10+), junk food, cigarettes, keys, credit cards, pills, and any other substance you are looking to break the habits with. Reduce your unhealthy food intake and cut back on salty treats. The kSafe Medium container comes in a variety of colors to blend in or stand out to showcase the steps you’re taking to beat temptation.
  • BE YOUR OWN INTERVENTION: Phone addiction is on the rise within the last 10 years, and Americans have been battling other substance addictions for much longer. Right now, the average person checks their phone 262 times a day. We all could use a helping hand. The kSafe electric container is a simple, concealed way to get a little help fighting addictions many other people also face.
  • SCIENTIFICALLY BACKED RESULTS: The kSafe container is a precommitment device, so you can make smart decisions before the temptation strikes. Studies from Princeton, Harvard, Stanford, and Yale show that precommitment devices are the best way to fight temptation by combating decision fatigue and conserving willpower.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 17:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

OXO Pop Cleaning and Care Instructions

When it comes to cleaning and washing OXO Pop containers, I disassemble the containers. How you disassemble your containers depends on whether you are dealing with a OXO Pop 1.0 or 2.0 container.

On the OXO Pop 1.0 lid, you remove the bottom portion of the lid by twisting it in the direction of the arrows embossed on it. The silicone gasket can then be removed from the bottom portion of the lid. Disassembling an OXO Pop 2.0 lid is similar but both the bottom portion of the lid and the gasket can be removed by simply lifting them up.

I then let the gasket and bottom portion of the lid soak in the sink. I wash the top portion of the lid with a dish cloth, being careful not to let any water in on the underside where it can get stuck. I then dry each piece with a dish cloth and let it dry further overnight in a dish rack. Finally, I reassemble the lid in the reverse order that I disassembled it.

Frequently Asked Questions about OXO Pop Containers

Can OXO pop containers go in the dishwasher?
According to OXO, only the gasket of the Pop 1.0 container is dishwasher safe; however, OXO claims on product pages that Pop 2.0 is “now completely dishwasher safe”; however, I would not put the actual lid in the dishwasher (just the gasket and removable plastic part) because it can easily trap water and has lots of tiny mechanisms that could fail. Personally, I still wash everything by hand, dry with a dish cloth, and let everything dry further overnight.

What to do if you get water in the lid of your OXO Pop container?
I try to be very careful when washing the top portion of the lid on my OXO Pop containers, as they can easily trap water (the bottom portion and gasket is detachable, so I let those soak in the sink). If I get water trapped in the top portion, I just shake out as much as I can and let the lid sit overnight to resolve itself.

Can OXO pop containers go in the freezer or fridge?

While I haven’t personally tried to store my Pop containers in the fridge, OXO says their containers are safe for the refrigerator and freezer; however, they state that exposure to extreme temperature fluctuations can cause the container lid to lift due to changes in air pressure.

Are OXO pop containers microwave safe?
According to OXO, the Pop containers are intended for dry food storage only and should not be microwaved. I would echo this advise; why ruin a perfectly good dry food container? If you want to microwave foods, there are lots of good alternatives out there.

What do I do if my OXO Pop container lid gets stuck?
Sometimes your OXO Pop container lid gets stuck. This video provides step-by-step directions on how to fix a stuck lid for both OXO Pop 1.0 and 2.0 containers:

I hope you enjoyed this OXO Pop Container review. Do you have any unique ideas and uses for OXO pop containers? Be sure to share them in the comments section below.

Sale
White Lids: Recommended OXO Pop Starter Set: 20-Piece
  • 20 pieces to get you started. Use the buying guide above to purchase additional pieces to match your storage needs.
  • Set includes: Two 0.2 Qt Containers, One 0.4 Qt Rectangle Container, One 0.4 Qt Square Container, One 0.5 Qt Container, One 0.6 Qt Container, Two 1.1 Qt Containers, Two 1.2 Qt Containers, Two 1.7 Qt Rectangle Containers, One 1.7 Square Container, One 2.2 Qt Container, One 2.7 Qt Container, Two 2.8 Qt Containers, One 4.4 Qt Container, Two 6.0 Qt Containers.

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 17:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Stainless Steel Lids: Recommended OXO Pop Starter Set: 12 Piece
  • 12 pieces in stainless steel to get you started with a elegant look.
  • Stainless steel looks fantastic on open kitchen shelves or countertops.
  • Use buying guide above to purchase additional pieces to match your storage needs.
  • Includes: Two 0.2 Qt Container, One 0.4 Qt Small Square Container, One 0.4 Qt Slim Rectangle Container, One 0.6 Qt Container, One 1.1 Qt Container, One 1.2 Qt Container, One 1.7 Qt Container, One 2.8 Qt Container, One 4.4 Qt Container, One Half Cup Scoop, 36 Removable Labels (6 Sheets).

Pricing last updated on November 26, 2022 - 17:30 MST. Pricing and images from Amazon Product Advertising API. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Email
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Kitchen Equipment Reviews

Breville Oracle Touch vs. Breville Barista Express
Review: Breville PolyScience Control Freak Induction Cooker
ClaroSwiss Water Filter Alternatives for Breville Espresso Machines

Delicious Recipes

Spicy Seared Broccoli Side Dish
Extra Tender Beef and Broccoli
How to Make Butterscotch Pudding From Scratch

Food Articles

ThermoWorks Square DOT Featuring New Average Air Temperature Reading
New Kitchen Tool: Anova Precision Chamber Vacuum Sealer
Best Cookbooks of All Time